Sara Maxwell



Watford colleges, Brookes University


O levels A levels ONC HNC NVQ III and degree in Human Biology

Work History:

Harefield and Guys Hospital, Stanmore Orthopaedic Hospital, Blood Product Laboratory, CRC, Brookes Universtiy, HORL (private company), Champneys, Aylesbury college Rycote wood college and University of Oxford

Current Job:

Research Assistant Biochemistry


University of Oxford

Me and my work

It can be interesting and full of variety.

My Typical Day

This is a difficult one as each day is different

I could be cloning which basically means cutting and pasting bits of DNA or injecting worms with DNA. Or looking at the worms on the microscope.  Or just routine work like maintaining the worms and ensuring they have enough food. I also may need to deal with queries and problems with various aspects of the lab.

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Determined diplomatic GSOH

What living thing amazes you the most?

Human beings

What is the most fun thing you've done?

A trip to Madagascar

Were you ever in trouble in at school?

Where do I start ………………………………………………….

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

A Physiotherapist

What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

Working in the cardiac operating theatre

Who or what inspired you to become a scientist?

No one in fact I was told that it wasn’t a suitable subject for a young lady

What would your superpower be?

Healing the sick

If I could change one thing about the world...

Redistribution of wealth to eliminate economic disparity

My favourite CHRISTMAS LECTURE memory is:

Taking a selfie with Sir Paul Nurse at the launch party

The most Fantastic thing about Life is:

that we are here

Other stuff

Show us where you work: